Webguru Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Webguru Forum

Many bots come to this site. We ping all post everyday. You will got indexed fast!

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  SEOSEO  
Get SEO Monthly packages to get top ranking within few months.
Monthly package starts with $150 upwards. Flexible pricing.
Forum Link Building -Quality and unique posts.

Basic question on keywords in domain names and 301 redirecting

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
qiuyeanwen

Basic question on keywords in domain names and 301 redirecting  Empty
PostSubject: Basic question on keywords in domain names and 301 redirecting    Basic question on keywords in domain names and 301 redirecting  EmptyTue Aug 09, 2011 4:16 am

I'm new to SEO and I know this is a very common scenario but I can't seem to find any definitive info. Lots of discussion and opinions on the subject but often conflicting and nothing really official. I've had site "X.com" up for almost a year now. The name "X" itself has no keywords in it so I'd like to create a domain name that does have keywords. "X.com" should ideally be maintained as the primary site however. I'd therefore like to create a site with some relevant keywords, call it "Y.com", and redirect it to "X.com". My basic (sometimes overlapping) questions are therefore:

1. Should I simply create a single page on "Y.com" that does nothing but redirect to "X.com" (via 301)?
2. Without adding any content or (explicit) backlinks to "Y.com", will searches for "Y" eventually push "Y.com" up the rankings (and hence generate more traffic for "X.com")?
3. Should I add some (unique) content to "Y.com" and/or backlinks but automatically redirect to "X.com" anyway?
4. Will Google penalize me for any of the above? (since "Y.com" is redirecting for SEO reasons only)